Comments (0)

WGA Awards 2014 Live Streaming in 45 Mins!

The WGA (Writer's Guild of ... really!?) will give out its awards tonight during its annual non-televised ceremony that is being live-streamed via the LA Times, hurray ! SU will be covering the event live on Twitter. You can watch a live webcast of the ceremony along with pre-awards nominee interviews from film and television starting at 5 p.m. PST at Below is a partial list of the nominees. (For a complete list see the LA Times website)


"American Hustle," written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell (Columbia Pictures)

"Blue Jasmine," written by Woody Allen (Sony Pictures Classics)

"Dallas Buyers Club," written by Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack (Focus Features)

"Her," written by Spike Jonze (Warner Bros.)

"Nebraska," written by Bob Nelson (Paramount Pictures)


"August: Osage County," screenplay by Tracy Letts; based on his play (Weinstein Co.)

"Before Midnight," written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke; based on characters created by Richard Linklater and Kim Krizan (Sony Pictures Classics)

"Captain Phillips," screenplay by Billy Ray; based on the book "A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea" by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty (Columbia Pictures)

"Lone Survivor," written by Peter Berg; based on the book by Marcus Luttrell with Patrick Robinson (Universal Pictures)

"The Wolf of Wall Street," screenplay by Terence Winter; based on the book by Jordan Belfort (Paramount Pictures)


"Dirty Wars," written by Jeremy Scahill and David Riker (Sundance Selects)

"Herblock – The Black & The White," written by Sara Lukinson and Michael Stevens (Stevens Co.)

"No Place on Earth," written by Janet Tobias and Paul Laikin (Magnolia Pictures)

"Stories We Tell," written by Sarah Polley (Roadside Attractions)

"We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks," written by Alex Gibney (Focus Features)

TV, new media and radio nominees:


"Breaking Bad," written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz and Moira Walley-Beckett (AMC)

"The Good Wife," written by Meredith Averill, Leonard Dick, Keith Eisner, Jacqueline Hoyt, Ted Humphrey, Michelle King, Robert King, Erica Shelton Kodish, Matthew Montoya, J.C. Nolan, Luke Schelhaas, Nichelle Tramble Spellman, Craig Turk and Julia Wolfe (CBS)

"Homeland," written by Henry Bromell, William E. Bromell, Alexander Cary, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Barbara Hall, Patrick Harbinson, Chip Johannessen, Meredith Stiehm, Charlotte Stoudt and James Yoshimura (Showtime)

"House of Cards," written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem and Beau Willimon (Netflix)

"Mad Men," written by Lisa Albert, Semi Chellas, Jason Grote, Jonathan Igla, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Michael Saltzman, Tom Smuts, Matthew Weiner and Carly Wray (AMC)


"30 Rock," written by Jack Burditt, Robert Carlock, Tom Ceraulo, Luke Del Tredici, Tina Fey, Lang Fisher, Matt Hubbard, Colleen McGuinness, Sam Means, Dylan Morgan, Nina Pedrad, Josh Siegal and Tracey Wigfield (NBC)

"Modern Family," written by Paul Corrigan, Bianca Douglas, Megan Ganz, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Becky Mann, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Audra Sielaff, Emily Spivey, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel and Danny Zuker (ABC)

"Orange Is the New Black," written by Liz Friedman, Sian Heder, Tara Herrmann, Sara Hess, Nick Jones, Jenji Kohan, Gary Lennon, Lauren Morelli and Marco Ramirez (Netflix)

"Parks and Recreation," written by Megan Amram, Donick Cary, Greg Daniels, Nate DiMeo, Emma Fletcher, Rachna Fruchbom, Daniel J. Goor, Norm Hiscock, Matt Hubbard, Dave King, Greg Levine, Joe Mande, Sam Means, Aisha Muharrar, Matt Murray, Amy Poehler, Alexandra Rushfield, Michael Schur, Jen Statsky, Harris Wittels and Alan Yang (NBC)

"Veep," written by Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche and Will Smith (HBO)


"The Americans," written by Michael Batistick, Joshua Brand, Joel Fields, Melissa James Gibson, Sneha Koorse, Joe Weisberg and Bradford Winters (FX)

"House of Cards," written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem and Beau Willimon (Netflix)

"Masters of Sex," written by Michelle Ashford, Tyler Bensinger, Michael Cunningham, Lyn Greene, Richard Levine, Amy Lippman, Sam Shaw and Noelle Valdivia (Showtime)

"Orange Is the New Black," written by Liz Friedman, Sian Heder, Tara Herrmann, Sara Hess, Nick Jones, Jenji Kohan, Gary Lennon, Lauren Morelli and Marco Ramirez (Netflix)

"Ray Donovan," written by Ann Biderman, Sean Conway, David Hollander, Brett Johnson and Ron Nyswaner (Showtime)


“Buried” ("Breaking Bad"), written by Thomas Schnauz (AMC)

“Confessions” ("Breaking Bad"), written by Gennifer Hutchison (AMC)

“Episode 101” ("House of Cards"), teleplay by Beau Willimon (Netflix)

“Granite State” ("Breaking Bad"), written by Peter Gould (AMC)

“Hitting the Fan” ("The Good Wife"), written by Robert King and Michelle King (CBS)

“Pilot” ("Masters of Sex"), written by Michelle Ashford (Showtime)

More recent articles in News


Only logged-in members can comment. You can log in or join today for free!