Comments (0)

Frank Pierson Re-elected as Academy President

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has re-elected Frank Pierson to his third straight term as president of the organization on August 5th.

The Academy Award-winning writer for best screenplay "Dog Day Afternoon," Pierson is a governor representing the writers branch of the organization for the past six years. Pierson was also nominated for the screenplays "Cat Ballou" and "Cool Hand Luke."

Actors branch governor Kathy Bates was named treasurer and sound branch governor Donald C. Rogers was re-elected secretary. Bates has served three terms as vice president and a term as secretary. Rogers has previously served three terms as vice president, one term as treasurer and nine terms as secretary.

Board members serve three-year terms, while Academy officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.

More recent articles in Archive


Only logged-in members can comment. You can log in or join today for free!